RSS

Process / Idea Updates for Studio

14 Feb

Sketches…tons of sketches.  For me it is just faster to draw out my ideas and the Revit model takes time to do what a pen can do in a flash.  Revit is awesome, but I need my ideas more solid before I model or I lose a lot of details.  I have been to the moon and back in the range of direction for the design, which is typical for me.  I really enjoyed making a very fun and interactive space with a whole nautical adventure theme but it was geared heavily toward children.  I suppose since I taught my children to read while we were homeschooling I love to see that fire lit in kids that enjoy books.

You can go anywhere in a book.  My concept of the Nautilus and Fibonacci Golden Spiral inspired my design being very organic in form with one piece flowing into the other.  Community minded in the sense that the parklet space would be used by a wide range of ages and for multiple purposes, I designed with that adaptability in mind.  The pieces are modular but can be bolted down under a kickplate to hide the attachment area so a tripping hazard would be avoided.  The flooring would be constructed of Bison Screwjack pedestals and the Wooden Tiles.  These can be used again in another parklet and are completely adjustable.  IMG_20150213_165235   nautilus shellSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2015 in Studio 302 Jo Leimenstoll

 

Leave a Reply

 
